Saturday, July 28, 2012

What is Naturopathy?

Naturopathy is a holistic method of healing which recognises the ability of the body to overcome disease. It is a system of medicine founded on the most time-tested medical principle: the healing power of nature. The goal of naturopathy is to restore the body's natural functioning through the use of natural substances and treatments that enhance its innate healing abilities.
Naturopathy is an art and science of healthy living and drugless system of healing based on well founded philosophy. It has its own concept of health and disease and also principles of treatment. Prakritik Chikitsa, Nature Cure, Pancha Tattva Chikitsa and Nature Therapy are different names of Naturopathy. 
It aims to attain sound health by dealing with the topics like, how we should live? What we should eat? And how our daily routine should be? The methods of nature cure not only helps us in attaining freedom from diseases but with the help of their regular, sustained flow positive and vigorous health can be acquired.
Naturopathy holds the belief that our body is made up of five basic elements and any imbalance in the body function are the results of our wrong life style. Due to the sedentary life styles, our systems become unable to expel the unwanted matters (known as morbid matter or toxins in Naturopathy) out of the body. The accumulation of these toxins implies diseases. 
In naturopathy diseases are the dis-ease state of the body which is removed by means of the five elements (ether, water, fire air and space) of which our body is made. There are different therapies based on them, i.e. fasting (space element), mud therapy (ether element), hydro therapy (water element), massage therapy and chromo therapy (fire elements) and various breathing exercises also known as air therapy (air elements).

Saturday, July 7, 2012

Your Health and Pancha Karma

Pancha Karma for eliminating toxins from the body.

Ayurveda offers unique therapeutic measures that heal mild and chronic diseases. Even diseases that are believed to be incurable by modern medicine have been healed. Stories abound of people being carried into Pancha karma centers, and a few weeks later, walking out on their own two feet, healthy and rejuvenated. Ayurveda is not based on magic; rather, it is based on understanding medical principles and the six stages of illness.
The most deeply seated toxins that cause disease are heavy and sticky, lodging in the deepest tissue layers. Pancha Karm permanently eliminates these toxins from the body, allowing healing and restoration of the tissues, channels, digestion, and mental functions. Six therapies are divided into two categories:
1) Toning or nourishing (Brimhana or santarpana), and
2) Reducing or detoxifying (langhana or apartarpana)—those that cause lightness.
Brimhana tones because it uses therapies that promote earth and water elements, while langhana lightens by using ether, air, and fire elements to reduce. Illness is relieved as doshas become balanced through these therapies.
The six major therapeutic categories are either toning or reducing in nature.
1. Reducing (langhana or lightening) the body, making it light.
2. Nourishing (Brimhana or expanding) the body by adding corpulence.
3. Drying (Rukshana) or producing roughness in the body.
4. Oleation (snehana) or applying oil to the body creates softness, fluidity, and moistness.
5. Sudation (svedhana) or sweating, removes stiffness, heaviness, and coldness.
6. Astringent (stambhana) balances the flow (slow or fast) of bodily fluids (e.g., diarrhea, bleeding, etc.), and prevents mobility.
The therapeutic measures involved for each category primarily include herbs, foods, internal and external application of oils; fasting, and exercise.