Sunday, April 1, 2012

Does Chakra Meditation Offer Us Enlightenment ?

Seven Chakras in our body
The concept of chakra is found in Hindu texts and features in tantric and yogic traditions of Hinduism and Buddhism. It is derived from Sanskrit word meaning "wheel" or "turning." They are believed to be a number of wheel-like vortices which are supposed exist in the surface of the subtle body of living beings. The chakras are considered as "force centers" or whorls of energy permeating, from a point on the physical body, the layers of the subtle bodies in an ever-increasing fan-shaped formation.
There are seven main chakras in the body, along the spinal column -
i.        Muladhara - Base or Root Chakra (last bone in spinal cord, the coccyx)
ii.      Swadhisthana - Sacral Chakra (ovaries/prostate)

iii.    Manipura - Solar Plexus Chakra (navel area)   
iv.     Anahata - Heart Chakra (heart area)
v.       Vishuddha - Throat Chakra (throat and neck area)
vi.     Ajna - Brow or Third Eye Chakra (pineal gland or third eye)
vii.   Sahasrara - Crown Chakra (top of the head; 'soft spot' of a newborn)
Meditating upon them leads to siddhis, or mystic powers, and also induces the upward movement of the Kuṇḍalinī power. Chakra meditation is recommended for people who have less faith in God, and have not yet understood the concept of the relationship of the soul with the Almighty.
This chakra meditation does not develop our love for God, or help us realize our eternal position as His servant. Hence, those who have faith in God, and have understood from the scriptures that we have an eternal relationship with Him, should not go for chakra meditation. Instead, they should try to meditate upon God, and His Names, Forms, Virtues, Pastimes, Abodes, and Saints.

No comments:

Post a Comment